Announcement + Plans | NaNoWriMo 2017

Today I want to officially announce that I will be participating in NaNoWriMo 2017! In case you’ve never heard of it, NaNoWriMo is a month-long writing event that takes place each November. The main objective is to complete a new novel from scratch with a minimum of 50,000 words by the end of the month, which translates roughly to 1,667 words per day. It’s a whirlwind, but it’s fun!

I prefer to think of the rules as guidelines, so I anticipate I may start my novel early. But my goal will still be to add 50,000 words between November 1-30.

If you are not certain if you would like to participate, I encourage you give it a shot if you’ve ever thought you wanted to be a writer. It’s an amazing time of the year where all kinds of writers are joined together over this crazy goal and you will have so much emotional and motivational support, especially if you are active in the NaNoWriMo forums or on Twitter where there will almost always be writing sprints available.

Directly following today’s post, I plan to release two more before November 1st. One will cover some thoughts and tips on plot for anyone who may be still be wondering about what they want to write if they participate. In the second I will share as much as I can about my novel and how I personally think I will go about writing, including personal goals.

During the month I hope to do weekly writing updates, some things I might find useful as I go. I also am already planning an inspiration/motivation post for the second week of November that I think will help anyone like me who is sure to be suffering after the “honeymoon period” of NaNoWriMo (aka the time after the initial week’s excitement when the doubts settle in and distractions come into play).

Pep talks I think only work so much and I’ve stumbled upon a few resources I will share along the month that may hopefully help you keep your writing mojo going. I do think that one of the most important things to keep in mind is that it’s supposed to be fun.

End Note

Let me know in the comments if you plan to participate in NaNoWriMo or have any questions I or anyone else might be able to answer. If you have no interest in NaNo-themed posts, rest assured I will continue to post book reviews or anything else I find interesting on the topic of books through November. I will have my October ’17 Wrap Up and November ’17 TBR coming out next weekend after the NaNoWriMo kick off is completed. ^_^

Thank you for reading!
Follow my blog via Bloglovin’. Also find me on GoodreadsTwitter, and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Announcement + Plans | NaNoWriMo 2017

  1. snackingzombie says:

    I’ve also already started. I was ready to write so I didn’t feel the need to wait and for these few days I can do a slow pace and ease into it. Like you, I’m still aiming for 50k during November.

    What’s your project about?

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

