I’m back! | 06.04.17

Hello, again!

It’s been about three weeks now since school ended and I moved back in with my parents. I had meant to try and come back with a bang on June 1st, but I didn’t know what I wanted to do quite yet. I still don’t, to be completely honest.

Just to get the ball rolling I wanted to update you on my life and some exciting things that have happened, as well as some things I still intend to do.

Life Updates

1. I started boxing.

Not gonna lie, I know boxing is kind of trendy at the moment and it’s the only reason I’ve felt like giving it a shot. And guess what? I don’t regret it, because I’m really enjoying it! My dad bought this dummy thing to box with a few years ago and it has been gathering dust in the garage. When I got here a few weeks ago I made some space to use it and it has honestly become my favorite form of exercise. I don’t even need music or distraction, I can do it and think about whatever’s on my mind and before I know it 30 minutes has gone by and I’m ready to conquer whatever else I need to do.

I’d love to start taking actual classes one day, but for my current fitness level I think I’m getting a good workout. Even if it’s just simple combinations. If it’s available to you and you’re able, I strongly recommend giving it a shot!

2. I cut my hair off!

Like, nearly all of it. My new hairdresser says it’s a pixie cut, but I think a pixie cut means its short all the way around. I have longer bits in front that feel like bangs. I’m not sure how good it looks on me, as I have very thick hair. But it doesn’t matter that much to me right now if it suits me. The good thing is it’s already growing, and, most importantly, IT FEELS SO GOOD. Texas summers are punishingly hot and I’m going to love not having to fuss over my hair much this summer. I get to have a completely fresh start, in more ways than one.

I’ll take a picture eventually to share my new look.

3. I started applying for jobs last Wednesday. 

I had a bunch to update on my resume after this past year, so it was actually kind of fun to update it and be reminded of what I’ve accomplished. Nevertheless, it’s not been entirely too fun to wait for calls or other responses to my applications, overthinking every last detail of everything out of my control at this point.

But on that note…

4. I have an interview!

This past Friday I was emailed to find that this upcoming Tuesday I have an interview for a technology-related job in the local public school district where I’m currently staying. I’m crossing my fingers I ace the interview and can conclude my job search with little time wasted! This job seems so ideal, and I’m fairly confident I’m more than qualified.

I’ve been very lucky to have been able to avoid applying for jobs until now, but I will also begin to apply for easier part-time jobs to help me start saving early as I will need to start paying off my student debt come August/September. I’m going to try my best to be responsible and on top of this.

Recently Watched

I don’t really want to get into the habit of talking about every show or movie I watch, but two are recent enough that they’re relevant to me and my life right now.

First, Girlboss from Netflix. I didn’t read the book (#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso) it was based on, but I remember seeing it years ago when it first came out and thinking it might be a good read. The main character in the show is incredibly insufferable but other characters are so much fun, but I like how the show portrays the rise of her online business from eBay to creating her own website after she is kicked off.

I’ve toyed with the idea starting a Etsy shop, but never really had the time or vision to invest in it, but this show made me want to figure out if the ideas I have are good enough. If only so I can become my own boss!

Second, and slightly less meaningful on a personal level: Twin Peaks: The Return!!!! I watched the two seasons from the original series on Netflix two years ago (right before starting grad school) when I learned that a reboot was in the works. It was a surprisingly intriguing show, which had me excited to see what the revival had in store. The first two new episodes were really wacky and nothing like I expected, but I think I like it. It’s hard to say. I have no idea where it’s going, but I think that’s part of the fun.

If you have thoughts on either of these shows, feel free to start a dialogue in the comments section! No one I know IRL is watching/has watched these shows!

Currently Reading 

I’m currently still rereading A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. It’s been an enjoyable reread, but it’s been slow goings. I’m hoping to finish it pretty soon, though, so I can start A Court of Wings and Ruin! I’ve been avoiding everything that I worry might spoil me, and I hate living life that way.

After that book, I’m not sure what I’m going to read next. I just rearranged my bookshelves and there are so many books I haven’t read yet! Since I don’t know what kind of mood I’ll be in, I’m just going to wait and see what calls to me this month.

Blog Plans

Without the structure of school, I’m going to need to be self-disciplined in order to get things done. There’s so much I want to do, it’s hard to stick to just one thing and follow it through. Right now, I feel like looking for jobs is my #1 priority, but I think it’s also a good idea to choose something that I’m doing just for me and giving it my all.

For this reason, I think Betwined Reads will be a hodgepodge for the next couple of months. Some of the things I’m interested in doing (and subsequently blogging about) are:

  • The results from my YA book blogger survey. The paper is still a work in-progress and there was a little hiccup with the results, but I do look forward to sharing some of the more interesting findings this summer!
  • Books (obviously)! I want to get more into themed recommendations and reviews for the ones I do read.
  • Digital art. I have a Wacom tablet I want to start doing more with, possibly on my YouTube channel. I’d also like to teach myself some animation so I can do some more visual storytelling.
  • YouTube. I want to explore the audio-visual creation with my YouTube channel. I have a few ideas for what I’d like it to be, but I don’t really want to go into them quite yet until I actually have videos in the works.

I will keep my blog’s overall focus on books, but I also want to do some lifestyle and critical theory work on bookishness as a concept, which was actually one of my other final papers for my Social Technologies and Games class. That paper still needs some work, but I think I’d rather use my energy to turn it into a blog post or online article.

One thing you might be curious about is the absence of a writing goal. Last week I officially decided to take a break from novel writing. I am not loving any of my ideas at the moment and feel like there are so many other things I work on at the moment, so I’m content to wait until November, if that’s how long it’s going to take. I may still write a little here and there, particularly if I need something original for animation practice if that takes off. But I’m not going to set a goal that I don’t have my heart set on making right now.

End Note

Sorry this post is all over the place, but personally I love these kinds of posts best. It’s 9:43 p.m. on Sunday night as I finish up this post so I’m going to wrap this up as I’d like to snuggle up in bed and get closer to finishing up ACOMAF. I’ll be working on content for the blog this week. Most likely I’ll do some more casual posts this week related to my plans. Hopefully, they’ll be interesting and/or useful in you’re in a similar boat as me.

Hope you’ve been doing well! Let me know if there’s anything you want me to make sure to make time for if it doesn’t look like it’s currently on the agenda (e.g. writing).

Thank you for reading!
Follow my blog via Bloglovin’. Also find me on GoodreadsTwitter, and Instagram.

4 thoughts on “I’m back! | 06.04.17

  1. Natalie says:

    I added Girlboss to my list but haven’t started it yet. I’ve been finishing up Arrested Development. I haven’t gotten to read ACOWAR yet either, it’s been so hard to avoid spoilers! Hopefully I’ll get to read it on vacation in a couple of weeks. Good luck with the interview! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

