My YA Book Blogger Survey | Research

Hello!

This semester for my Capstone project, I have been working on a survey to measure what reasons people have for reading YA and blogging about YA separately to see what correlations I can find to explain the prevalence of the activity in the digital age when we are faced with so many other forms of entertainment online.

To make sure I surveyed people who I know both reading YA and blog about YA, I’ve spent the past few weeks compiling a list of YA book bloggers for whom I can find an email address listed somewhere on their blog. My search was very haphazard and random, which I believed would benefit the generalizability of my results. I would often start at YA book blogs that I already followed and browsed the comments sections to pick up new leads and discover other bloggers.

In case you are wondering, the factors that I used to determine whether a YA book blogger could be compiled in my list include:

  1. If the blogger declared themselves in their sidebar bio, About page, or Review Policy page as a YA enthusiast.
  2. If the most recent books I saw reviewed on the blog largely included popular YA titles.
  3. If the blogger has posted recently.

It has been a really cool experience to sift through so many diverse blogs on personal level because I consider myself a part of this community as a lover and defender of YA literature and what it means for literacy. I’ve also discovered so many great blogs that have inspired me to be a better blogger and community member.

End Note

If you are reading this post because you followed the link provided in the email invitation to participate in my survey, thank you for your interest! I hope you will consider taking time to participate in my graduate research. If you are reading this blog post simply because you already follow my blog, I hope you found it interesting! If you’d like to hear more about my research journey I’d love to talk more on this topic, and possibly the findings, here over the summer.

If you consider yourself a YA book blogger and would like to take part in this research and be entered into a raffle for one of five $10 Amazon gift cards, please email me at my school email loricanales@utdallas.edu!

Thank you for reading!
Follow my blog via Bloglovin’. Also find me on Goodreads, Twitter,and Instagram.

12 thoughts on “My YA Book Blogger Survey | Research

    • Lori says:

      Thanks so much! I’m so happy to have received so many responses so fast. I can’t wait to share my results in a follow up post this summer!

      Like

  1. elimadison2019 says:

    Hey Lori, this sounds like a really Capstone project! Best of luck with it. Last year I visited 371 YA book blogs as a part of Nori @ Read Write Love 28’s Commenting365 challenge. She created a master list of blogs for it and most of them are pretty solid links, so I would recommend maybe sending her a quick message asking if you could use the directory. She may decline for privacy reasons, but it was a great blog-hopping resource, and this reminded me of it. Thanks for the email!

    – Eli @ <a href="http://www.thesilverwords.com&quot;

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

