Writing Again (Maybe) | Writing Update

Hello one and all!

It’s 9:36 p.m. right now as I start this post and I’ve just had a fantastically productive day. I got a lot of homework and assigned reading done today giving me the opportunity to spend a couple of hours thinking about my next writing project. I’ve not been recently inspired with exciting new ideas, but that old familiar itch to write has returned and I’ve wanted to think seriously about my next move.

I’ve known for a while now that what I’ve really needed was a break from my old WIP and a blank slate to try something completely new. So I decided to do that today. Before I could back out, I texted my old writing buddy asking her if she wanted to do some writing sprints tonight. As she’s recently hit a wall in her editing, she was up for it. So there was no turning back.

With a blank Word document and no ideas, our first sprint and I started writing. I made up a name and before I knew it my new protagonist came to life and I love her already.

I don’t want to get into details right now, but the story I developed tonight is a hybrid of different stories and genres. The main goal I set for myself when I started writing was to make sure whatever I wrote would be fun. I don’t want to worry about originality or combatting cliché tropes. I just want to live vicariously through my characters and write a story that I’d love to read.

These are some of my tentative writing plans.

I’m thinking of writing this novel in seven parts. I want to outline and plan out what will happen in each part before I write it, so that’s what I’m going to do: plan each of the seven parts. I want to know where they will start and end and what major things will happen in them. So I’m going to work on the ending first.

Also I’m thinking about participating in Camp NaNoWriMo April. I don’t expect to be less busy in April, but I think it’d be a good idea to test my limits. And if I have my seven parts well planned by the end of March, then I should be all set for Camp. I like the idea of writing the novel in seven days, each of those days being a day-long write-in. Also, depending on how much I actually write this month, I may not even need to write 50,000 words to finish this novel.

End Note

I don’t know when my next writing update will come. I didn’t even know when I woke up today that I would be able to squeeze in writing time before bed! I’m planning to work more on this story tomorrow night, but I don’t know what the future hold beyond then. My spring break begins this weekend so I’ll have a lot more free time, but that doesn’t mean all of it will be spent writing; I also want to read! And I also want to work more on this blog. ^_^

Thank you for reading!
Follow my blog via Bloglovin’. Also find me on GoodreadsTwitter,and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Writing Again (Maybe) | Writing Update

Leave a Reply

