Have You Read Any of These? #1

Hello! Thanks for all the support on my first post this weekend. I really appreciate it!

Today I went to library after getting a little bit of exercise by playing Pokemon Go on campus. I had wanted to select some books so I could start my first Make Me Read It feature, but I realized that I’m not really in the mood to start another series or even a really big book that will take me longer than a week to finish. So I might save that for Spring Break, which, for me, is in two weeks. Then I will be home and be able to select books from my personal library!

So today I picked up five short, random books from the library and thought I’d “haul” them here to see if any of you have read them and what you think. I’ll also share some of my initial thoughts on them down below.screen-shot-2017-02-26-at-12-08-28-pm

Shoplifter by Michael Cho | Goodreads | I will probably read this book first because it is a graphic novel and I bet I’ll finish it pretty quickly. I might also be able to carry it with me on my long days on campus if it looks like I’ll have spare time to read.

This Census-Taker by China Miéville | Goodreads | The only reason I pulled this book from the Leisure Reading shelves is because of its size. I’ve never heard of the author before, but after flipping through its pages and reading the synopsis, I decided to give this book a shot.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson | Goodreads | I suppose I’m in a little bit of a spooky reading mood right now, which is why I picked up this book from the library, knowing it was also a pretty short book. It was first recommended to me by an older cousin who also likes to read. And coincidentally it was mentioned in the book I just finished: The Fate of the Tearling. So I figured it’s probably a good time to read this one.

Nutshell by Ian McEwan | GoodreadsOne of my favorite movies is Atonement (2007), which was adapted from the book by this same author. So I’m optimistic that this novel will be a really captivating read, even though it’s a little out of my comfort zone.

A Touch of Stardust by Kate Alcott | Goodreads | I love reading historical fiction and everything about this book has immediately drawn me in. It caught my attention a few months ago, and the only reason I’ve not borrowed it yet is because I’ve felt like I had a lot of time to read and I’ve never read anything by this author. So I’ve been hesitant. It’s the only of the five books I picked up today that is a little bit longer, but I’m looking forward to getting to it soon!

Thank you for reading!
Follow my blog via Bloglovin’. Also find me on GoodreadsTwitter,and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Have You Read Any of These? #1

    1. Good and gothic is exactly what I’m in the mood for right now! I’ve also strangely been in a science fiction mood, at least for movies I’ve been watching…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

